Loaded: A Lesson in Affliction

Image

As I came around the corner to the laundry room it was if her little face was saying, “Come on Mom! This laundry thing is fun-stop complaining!”

So I think I’ve mentioned before that we have a Family Night each week in which we have some gospel learning time, usually a treat, and usually some fun activity to do together. We try for Monday nights and tonight I kept thinking back to two talks I had recently read/heard that seemed to be hollering at me:)

The first was a talk that was given in our Worldwide General Conference that our church holds every 6 months, you can read the whole thing here.

The second was a short talk that we read in our devotional this morning during homeschool, you can read the whole thing here.

Both talks covered the topic of challenges or afflictions, and the necessity of having trials in our lives. I thought back with a bit of shame to the middle of last night when I found myself praying, ” Can’t you just make her sleep through the night?” as I sat up with Button, whom has suddenly become an insomniac after  over a year of being my best sleeper.

There are bigger things though, and there have been times when I think, “Can’t I have a break?” But then what would I be learning?

So over the last few years I’ve tried to change my prayers during times of trial from “Why? Can’t you make it stop?” to, “Ok, Lord. Show me what I’m supposed to be learning. And please give me the strength to pull through this better than I was.”

It’s not a perfect science, for sure, but it’s amazing what my change in attitude has done for my ability to confront challenge and also to trust and rely on the Lord.

Anyway, I created this The Power of the Load as part of our Family Night tonight, trying to explain it in a way that my kiddos would understand. Well, at least they thought the old lady doing weights and the baby reading a book were funny;)

4 thoughts on “Loaded: A Lesson in Affliction

  1. Thanks Megan. I love your prayer, “Ok, Lord. Show me what I’m supposed to be learning. And please give me the strength to pull through this better than I was.” I also read both speeches and expecially enjoyed the one by David Bednar. I will likely be telling the story of the 4-wheel drive pickup. I’m also reminded of a quote by Henry Ford, “Remember, a plane always takes off into the wind.” Its always better to face into problems rather than turn away or try to avoid dealing with them. Thanks again Megan. You are a very wise and talented youn lady. Uncle Ron

  2. I’ve uttered the same prayers. Both types: “Can’t you make it stop?” and “Show me what I should be learning”. You’re so right. When I submit to Him, though my circumstances have not changed, He grants me grace and peace. God is so good!

Leave a Reply

