The Most Versatile Bread Recipe Ever

ImageO.K, O.K….so I do not know for sure that the title is a fact, but seriously….I LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!! In my post yesterday I mentioned that I made some pumpkin bread to celebrate fall, well, this is the recipe I used.

I’ve messed with it so much I’m not sure what the original format was but here is the basic recipe and below I’ll put the “tweaks” that our family has enjoyed:

1/2 cup canola oil

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 T. vanilla

1 1/2 cup mashed/pureed fruit/veggie (our favorites: banana, pumpkin, jack-fruit, squash, sweet potato)

2 cups flour

Mash or Puree your choice of fruit/veggie and then add all the wet ingredients and mix. Then gradually add the flour. Bake at 350 degrees F, for about 20-30 minutes. This will make one bread loaf or a dozen muffins.

“Healthier” Version (DOUBLE BATCH)

4 cups mash/puree of choice

3/4 cup oil

1 1/2 cup honey (or agave)

4 small (we used pheasant) eggs

2 tsp. salt

4 tsp. cinnamon

2 tsp. baking soda

2 T. vanilla

1 1/2 cups cooked oatmeal

1/4 cup flaxseed

1/2 cup wheat bran

1 cup popped amaranth

2 cups flour (whole wheat or white)

Same process as above, just add the various dry ingredients one at a time. Bake. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “The Most Versatile Bread Recipe Ever

  1. Nummy! I was just looking for a new pumpkin recipe to make with my LO (thanks to your last post–LOL). I wanted it to be a little less all-at-once as pumpkin pie, so I’m going to try this out. I’ll let you know what my little critic thinks.

  2. Gonna give this a try with some of the squash and punkins we have coming out of our garden this fall! Yummmm-o-o-o-o-o-o!

    1. With squash, since it’s a lighter taste, I’ve mixed spices (like pumpkin or apple pie spice or just putting in some ginger, nutmeg, and/or cloves) to make more of a spice bread and I like it better that way. The kids prefer just the cinnamon though. You have such great bread recipes already though!

Leave a Reply

