Just Another Day in Paradise

Image

Have you every heard this song? It was one of my favorites as a romantic teenager thinking that one day when I was in the stage I am now I would be blissfully happy. 

Now that I’m in the married, stay at home mom, little kid stage I’m not blissfully happy. You know why? Well, it’s really just the wording. To me, the word “bliss” denotes ignorance and the “rose-colored” glasses type effect. On the contrary, I know exactly what I chose. I chose this life and as any number of parents out there will tell you: Marriage and Parenthood is not for the faint of heart. This is hard work! If you want a job that will make you feel like you have no idea what you are doing and that you are always on your toes….well, then get married and have some kids (I recommend in that order too). But you know what I am also happier than I ever imagined I could be! It’s not bliss, but hard-earned deep-down happiness!

Image

As I was trying to do laundry the other day and my water heater went out (for the 3rd time in the last 3 months) and as I was pulling out and disconnecting the washer so I could get to the dryer and see what in the world was wrong with it too, I started laughing as this song, “Just Another Day in Paradise” popped in my head. My husband was on his way home to find me and the laundry area drenched (did you know that some houses have TWO water turn offs?) and a pile of dirty clothes scattered through the house cause a three year old knew her mommy was trapped behind the washer. But you know what? We were all happy!

Image

Last week the song came to mind again as my girls came dripping and muddy through the house after playing in the rain. Then again a few days later when my son  “accidently” blew up a water balloon in my face. I couldn’t help but think of it again yesterday as we were doing our traditional “interviews” with our kids and our three year old came and jumped on the couch with Mommy and Daddy and flipped upside down putting her dirty feet on the wall and then jumping on her Dad and saying “I farted!” and then giving him a big hug and saying “Good Daddy!”

Image

The thing is, pretty nearly every day something messes up my plans. Pretty nearly every day there is a question or concern that I’m not sure how to answer. Pretty nearly every day I fall asleep if I sit down for more than five minutes. 

Image

BUT…..Also, pretty nearly every day my son makes me laugh with his crazy laugh that he gets from his latest jokes. Pretty nearly every day my oldest daughter nearly chokes me with a huge hug and looks at me like I’m the greatest mom ever. Pretty nearly every day my 3 yr. old daughter brings me “flowers” from our yard (well, sometimes the neighbors too). Pretty nearly every day my baby girl gives me a goofy grin while breastfeeding and lets the milk dribble all over as if to say “I love you so much, Mommy!” And pretty nearly every day my husband gives me a look or a touch that gives me butterflies and makes me fall in love all over again.

Image

No, it’s not easy. I become frustrated, angry, irritated, hungry, exhausted, and sometimes just break down and cry. BUT, I am also becoming more thoughtful, caring, patient, humble and downright happy. Each day really is another day in Paradise.

6 thoughts on “Just Another Day in Paradise

  1. That’s where we’ve been today…Paradise. LOVE seeing the pics. Miss my “crazy Little People” And their Mommie and Daddy!!!
    Love you all…
    Gramma Margo;)

Leave a Reply

