Noodle Dumps

DSCN5841Noodle Dumps

I have a hard time following recipes. I don’t know what it is that makes me HAVE to experiment with them! Usually I try to make them “healthier” ( quotations meaning that healthier for our family may not work for your families dietary needs/wants). Also, I always try to make them easier and quicker if I can. Thus I am sharing my most recent experiment that my kids have termed “Noodle dumps” because they “are kind of noodles and kind of dumplings”. It’s a basic homemade noodle recipe, but instead of rolling them out and cutting them I floured up the entire mound of dough and pinched off little bits. This cut the preparation time in half and we still got to enjoy the lovely texture and taste of homemade noodles!
This is the original recipe that I got from “Taste of home” magazine, online:
2 to 2and1/2 cups all-purpose wheat flour, divided
1/2 tsp. salt
3 eggs
1 Tbsp water
1 Tbsp canola oil

I have since subtracted one egg from the recipe which did not make a noticeable difference to texture or taste and substituted extra-virgin olive oil for the canola, which I like the flavor of better.
I mix the dry ingredients together, then put the wet ingredients in the middle and mix lightly ’til combined. Then I mix it well with my hands and knead it and add flour to make a smooth, firm dough. Then I flour my hands and the dough ball and start pinching off pieces. I throw them in a bowl and then sprinkle some flour and stir them lightly about every couple minutes. It took me 15 minutes to “pinch” two batches. I added this to a vegetable soup ( I used spinach, mushrooms, onion, carrots, squash, and green beans for ours) and it was a big hit at our house! My next goal is to try to make it vegan and then gluten-free….I’ll let you know if it’s a success!

Leave a Reply

